The middle of August is nearly upon us, meaning it’s time to start thinking about the postseason honors. Today, we’re examining the Rookie of the Year Awards race. ┬áSpoiler alert: the National League’s winner is already set in stone.

The winner

Cody Bellinger 1B / L.A. Dodgers

BA/OBP/SLG: .264/.344/.608

With due respect to the rest of the field, Cody Bellinger should prepare his trophy shelf for some new hardware. Bellinger has homered 32 times in 91 games — that’s a 57-homer pace over a full season — and has done so while hitting for an acceptable average and drawing walks in more than 10 percent of his trips to the plate. By the way, Bellinger has also seen action at both outfield corners in addition to his time spent at the cold corner. He’s a fantastic player.

Read more at CBS Sports



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live